Easy beanie crochet pattern for little boys

Wooshh..sh…Woooshhhh… the weather is getting nasty day by day. Everybody must be trying to keep themselves warm, especially the little ones. My kids don’t like to wear hats no matter how windy n cold it is outside. Still we mums keep on trying ways to keep them cozy, don’t we? 🙂 As the winter has finally started with its challenges let’s hope having a pleasant one this year.

Here’s a very simple and easy to make pattern of a winter hat/beanie. I made it for my son. You can change the color and make it for girls too. The starting of the pattern is similar to the Tea Coasters that I have posted earlier. I made those using a treble crochet, here the main stitch is double crochet.

B4

I used: Hayfield Bonus Chunky Yarn, 5.5 mm crochet hook, for this hat.

Abbreviations:

  • Ch – chain
  • Sc – single crochet
  • Hdc – half double crochet
  • Dc – double crochet
  • Fpdc – front post double crochet
  • Bpdc – back post double crochet
  • Sl st – slip stitch
  • St – stitch

Make a magic ring.

ROW 1: Ch 3(counts as 1 dc throughout), 13 dc. Join with sl st. Total 14 dc.

ROW 2: 2dc in each st, join with sl st. Total 28 dc.

ROW 3: 2dc in first st, 1dc in next, repeat. Join with sl st. Total 42 dc.

ROW 4:  *2dc, 1dc, 1dc* repeat from *to*.(i.e. 2dc in every third st). Join with sl st. Total 56 dc.

ROW 5-9: 1dc in each st. Total 56 dc.

ROW 10-17: Ch 3(counts as 1bpdc), work 1 fpdc, 1 bpdc, alternately. Sl st into the third ch of starting Ch3. Work fpdc into fpdc & bpdc in bpdc of previous row. No turning.

Row 18: Ch 1, sc in each st. Total 56 sc.

I changed the color here. You can keep on doing without changing the color.

ROW 19: Ch 2, hdc in each st. Total 56 hdc.

Fasten off. Weave in ends.

I tried making a pompom just by wrapping the yarn around my four fingers and tying a simple but tight knot in the center. And sew it on the top of the hat (I really need to learn how to make pompoms though!).

All done! It’s ready to try on.. Here I present my little model not very happy to wear it though 😉

B2

B1

It was difficult to make him wear the hat. He just doesn’t like to wear beanies I guess!! Just like his sister. Again….. I have to keep on trying.

Leave a comment